Changes

I had to make a few small changes to the Foreword of our book today.   The beautiful thing about self-publishing is if you see an error, or want to change your wording…it’s easy to do.  Since the book is in a digital-only format right now, I am so happy I’m able to make necessary changes!

Kim and I decided not to combine the two books into one larger book.  We felt it might be too confusing, and too many ISBN numbers to deal with…so once we are able to get the book to the publisher, we will have print copies available for order very soon!

Since we are publishing a Part One and a Part Two of Haint Blue: The Rockford Haunting, I felt that some things needed to be changed to avoid confusing our dear readers.  Part One of the book deals almost entirely with what happened in the house, and most of the research and historical information about the area of Rockford/Nixburg will be contained in the second book.  All references to the historical details are being changed in the Foreword, and I wanted to publish the new Foreword here so that I could remember the date I made the changes:)

Thanks y’all!!

Jenny

New Foreword – Haint Blue: The Rockford Haunting (Part One)

 

FOREWORD

 

I never intended on telling the world about the darkest part of my life. I consider myself a writer who isn’t afraid to bare her soul, but I’ve always felt that certain things must be kept secret, especially in the Deep South. Here, we have many ghost stories and tales of folklore, but that’s all they are—tales. If something paranormal happens to you personally, you face ridicule and being labeled as “crazy” if you dare tell. I’d intended on keeping what happened to me and my family a secret for the most part, but I came to realize something very important—if I keep the secret to myself, then other people might be at risk for something evil happening to them. If I tell our story, then maybe others can learn from what we encountered and take the necessary steps to protect themselves. There will be skeptics and nay-sayers, and I take the risk of being labeled as off my rocker, but I’m willing to take that risk if it will help or empower another person to overcome their situation.

One thing I hope all people can take away from this book is that evil does exist. There IS a world beyond our vision, and as we learn in the Bible and in Quantum Physics, that unseen world is more vast and more REAL than the physical world in which we currently live.

When Kim approached me about having her team come to investigate the house, the one thing I told her explicitly is that I did not want to be present when they conducted their research. I wanted to be rid of the house and get as far away from it as I possibly could. I didn’t have any desire to communicate with something that could be demonic, and I didn’t want to be present when others attempted to do so. However, I was intrigued by their findings, but to this day I am not absolutely convinced that the entity they spoke to was telling the truth. As you will read in this book, the entity or entities claimed they were brothers, and gave their names.

Years later, when I began to research the Rockford area, Kim and I found two brothers whose names matched closely to a story that first made national news in 1977. As we dug deeper and uncovered more details, we were both shocked and left with more questions than answers.

I don’t know if what we experienced in Rockford was related to the two brothers in any way. I tend to believe the souls of the dead are not left to wander the earth—either they go to Heaven or to Hell. But I’m also familiar with the physics law of conservation of energy which states energy can neither be created nor destroyed; rather, it transforms from one form to another.

I believe absolutely that people can open up doorways into shadowy places we are not meant to find. In our particular case, I suspect that someone opened a portal a long time ago that has not been fully shut.

And then there is the fact that Harper Lee, author of “To Kill a Mockingbird” -came to the area in the late 1970s to research some mysterious deaths that had occurred in the years prior.

Ms. Lee meant to write a true crime novel, not a novel based on the paranormal. And all she found, to quote her, was “A mountain of rumor and tall-tale, to a molehill of fact.”

What she found, no one will ever know.  The book she reportedly began, tentatively named “The Reverend” – was never published.  Was there any truth to the rumors surrounding the mysterious deaths that occurred in the Nixburg/Rockford areas of Coosa County, Alabama?  Again, no one knows for sure.

Whatever the case, I believe that same spirit of evil could still out there in Nixburg today. I have felt it myself. It is out there prowling and ready to do whatever it needs to do to snag its next victim.

Haint Blue: The Rockford Haunting (Part One) is based on a true account of the events as they happened to our family and the subsequent paranormal investigation conducted by my co-author, Kim. The next book in our series, Haint Blue: The Rockford Haunting (Part Two) will be available soon.  It is comprised of the months of research we composed on the history of the house, the land on which the house was built, the area of Nixburg, and some possible explanations as to what could have caused the paranormal activity in our home.

I hope this story will intrigue you and encourage you to talk with others about your own experiences. There are many people in the Church that turn a blind eye to this kind of occurrence, and ministers and priests who turn away from helping those struggling with it. For those of you that have found this to be true for your situation, do not give up hope. There are good people who can and do help at no cost such as Kim’s paranormal team, Spirit Communications and Research. I wish the Church would stop being so afraid to address the issue of paranormal phenomena and better equip its followers to handle it when it occurs. But until that day comes, I will continue to share my story with the hope it helps another person make sense of the confusion enveloping their lives, or, perhaps, even escape the grips of evil.

 

 

 

Jenny Scott, March 2016

Leave a Reply

