Still Here

life-change-ahead

Hi All,

It has been a very busy couple of months. I realized a few weeks ago that I haven’t written a blog since September. Oh, the laziness!

Truth is, I just haven’t had much to say.

Haint Blue is doing well, and Kim and I have done a few podcasts here and there, as well as a student documentary.  We got a wonderful review from Vampires.com and he will be posting a follow-up interview soon on the website.

http://www.vampires.com/book-review-haint-blue/

On February 18, Kim and I will be on the Knights Pub podcast, and we are looking forward to that.  Also, on March 11, I’ll be (and possibly Kim will be) doing a book signing and reading at the local authors festival here in my town.

As far as the book goes, things are great!  As far as life goes, I feel some changes need to be made.  I have decided to go back to school.  I graduated from Auburn University in 1999 with a B.A. in Journalism, but I’ve been a stay at home mom for most of my time post-college. I’ve worked at several newspapers, and I’ve done freelancing…but as anyone with children at home knows….it is HARD to get back to an 8-5 job after you’ve been a stay at home mom for a long period of time.  Also, as much as I love to write, I want to do something different with my life.  I still want to write, and I will….but I want to learn a new trade.  They say you are never too old to learn, and I’m about to test that theory.

I’ve sent for copies of my college transcripts, and I have applied to a local community college because I plan to pursue either a two-year degree or a certificate.  Not sure which just yet, but I am VERY interested in holistic health, specifically, therapeutic massage. I have always been passionate about natural healing and essential oils, and I’m looking for a career free of deadlines, editors and crippling stress.  I’m getting older, and this old heart can’t handle what the young me could handle career-wise. I don’t want to pound the pavement and explain to every sexist male in charge why I’m “ready to go back to work” and prove to them that I can “handle a job and a family”  It is something I’ve had to do once before, and not only is it absolutely humiliating, I just don’t want to work for newspapers anymore. In case you haven’t noticed, the same kind of journalism I studied in college in the 1990s….and the journalism that exists today, are two very different things.  I won’t go into that, I’m just being honest.

I also want to help people.  I would love to be able to help people manage their stress, and get on the path of natural healing….but I’d also like to take what I learn and help children with special needs.

Children with special needs, specifically autism, have a GREAT deal of stress.  I am hoping that I can find some way to combine elements of therapeutic massage and knowledge of essential oils to help children with special needs and their caregivers overcome the constant stress in their lives.  As most of you know, I have a child with autism and I am always looking for ways to help my little guy navigate through this crazy world. I think I might have hit upon something.  Anyway, that’s my dream.  I would love to help people with disabilities, illnesses and injuries.  That is something that I would love….and they say you don’t truly work, if you are doing something you love.

So, back to college.  I enjoyed being a student in my youth, and I think I will more than enjoy it as an adult. I might be one of the oldest people in my classes, but I’ll be the most dedicated. I’m excited to begin this new journey….and I suppose I’m not truly happy unless something is changing.  I both fear change, and adore it.  Strange combination!

So, that’s my life currently.  I’m going back to school.  I will still write, though.  No way could I ever stop writing.  I am still working on several projects and possible book ideas  as well.

Well, y’all…that’s all from my little corner of the universe. Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve written.

Don’t forget to tune in to The Knights Pub Podcast on Saturday, February 18 to hear Kim and I discuss the book! http://www.theknightspub.net/

Live Long, and Prosper….

Jenny

2 thoughts on “Still Here

    1. I bet! Can’t wait to be up all night cramming for exams! Wait….I’m up a lot of the night anyway with the kids. Oh, well! Go grad student!! Kicking butt and making A’s!

Leave a Reply

